Recipe: Banana Nut Bread

It must be pregnancy cravings because I have been hit by the bread bug HARD. I cannot get enough bread! My figure is going to hate me for this, but its sooo goood… And I have taken to making my own breads, which has been a fun, exciting challenge!

My first attempt at homemade bread was this banana nut bread recipe that my sister shared with me. This recipe made a really great banana bread! It was super moist with a really crunchy crust…

You will need:
– 3 overripe bananas
– 1/4 cup soft butter
– 1 cup sugar
– 1 egg
– 1 tsp baking soda
– Dash of salt
– 1 1/2 cup flour
– 1 small pack of chopped walnuts

Start off by combining your bananas, butter, sugar, and egg in a mixer and run it until everything is combined really well. You want to make sure that your bananas are no longer “chunks.”

Next, add in your baking soda and salt, followed by the flour which you will want to add slowly… Unless you love to clean gigantic flour messes! Blend everything together until it is smooth, then take your mix from the blender.

Now you will want to add your nuts. If you dont like walnuts, you can always leave these out. If you add them, add most of them to the batter and mix in with a spoon to evenly spread things out. I like to save a bit of my nuts to sprinkle on top.

To prep your baking tin (I used an 8X4 bread tin), I liberally coated the inside of my tin with some soft butter to keep my bread from sticking. You can always use cooking spray if you prefer.

Now, spoon in your mix, evenly spreading it in the tin. If you saved some nuts, sprinkle them on top.

You will want to bake your bread at 350 degrees for 1 hour, minimum. It was a humid day when I made mine and I ended up having to add approx. 20 minutes to my baking time. Make sure you bake your bread long enough that it passes the butter knife test. (Butter knife test: if you stick a butter knife in the center of your bread, it should come out clean with no batter attached!)photo3

Nom nom nom! Enjoy your delicious banana nut bread!

Leave a comment